Opportunity cost of getting in over your head

This post may be incoherent, as I am up past my bedtime. (Yes, 9:15pm is past my bedtime.)

I spent most of the day trying to complete the homework for my Startup Engineering class. I made it through the first two parts, but I am lost on the third part and have resorted to trolling the forums for useful bits of code. Maybe it’s time to throw in the towel on this one?

If I spent 4 hours on an assignment that is over my head, wouldn’t it have been better to spend that same 4 hours studying at the appropriate level? I could have finished the entire CS 101 class or the entire Chris Pine book in 4 hours. Granted, I learned how to push to GitHub today, which is certainly worth something, but it probably shouldn’t have taken 4 hours. 

I really wanted to complete this class, but I’m not sure what to do now. Yes, I waited until the last minute to finish this assignment (such is the life of a CAHM). Tomorrow the FB group is doing a Google Hangout, so I will talk to them and see what they think. Right now I wish I had spent my time on something more productive. Yes, it would be very satisfying to finish the Stanford course, but it will be pointless if I don’t actually learn anything. 

I want to really understand what I am doing, not just Google everything until the automatic grader accepts my answer. I’m feeling overwhelmed by how much there is to learn. We’ll see how all of this looks in the morning…

Leave a Reply

